Date and Time

October 29, 2016
6 pm Cocktails
7 pm Banquet & Awards


  • Celebrity reception and silent auction


Fairmont Hotel Grand Ballroom
950 Mason Street
San Francisco, California 94108

Further Information

Event Ended
Save the Date

View the Save the Date Card

Celebrating 10 Years
2016 JSHoF Induction Ceremony & Banquet

Year of the Woman

The Year of the Woman became the theme of 1992, after voters elected more women to Congress than ever before.

Two dozen years later, we honor the class of 2016 — ALL WOMEN — six of the most incredible and distinguished athletes, coaches, and sports broadcasters Northern California has ever witnessed. We are proud to induct them into the Jewish Sports Hall of Fame of Northern California.

  • Celebrity Reception: Have your photo taken with a sports legend.
  • Silent Auction: Bid on a variety of unique items and sports memorabilia.
  • Enjoy a five-star dinner, libations, and a whole lot more!

Your donation is tax deductible to the fullest extent allowed by law, and benefits our student scholarship fund.

Tara VanDerveer

Head Coach Stanford Women’s Basketball

Tara VanDerveer is currently the most successful coach in Division 1 NCAA Women’s Basketball. As head women’s basketball coach coach since 1985, Tara has established herself as one of the top coaches in the history of collegiate and international women’s basketball, and been inducted into both the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame (2011) and the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame (2002). She was honored recently with the 2016 Coaching Corps Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2nd Annual Game Changer Awards in San Francisco. An ambassador for both Stanford University and the sport of college basketball, VanDerveer has enjoyed an unprecedented level of success through an energetic and positive approach to the game. She is a four-time national coach of the year and 14-time Pac-12 Conference Coach of the Year. Before coming to Stanford, VanDerveer served as head coach for a combined seven seasons at Idaho (1978-80) and Ohio State (1980-85). She has accumulated an impressive 980-225 (.813) record in her 37 years as a collegiate head coach and an 815-171 (.827) record over 30 seasons at Stanford.

Lindsay Gottlieb

Head Coach Cal Women’s Basketball

Lindsay recently notched her 100th Cal win, becoming the quickest coach in program history to reach the 100-win mark. She became the ninth University of California women’s basketball coach on April 25, 2011, and in just a few short years as the head coach, Lindsay has shown the ability to find the perfect balance in Berkeley by taking the program to unprecedented heights since. In just her second season in Berkeley, Lindsay led the 2012–13 Golden Bears to the first Final Four in school history, their first Pac-12 Conference championship, and the most wins ever by a Cal women’s basketball team (32-4). Gottlieb was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year by the media, and was one of the four finalists for the Naismith National Coach of the Year.

Ashley Grossman

Water Polo

Among her list of accomplishments, Ashley won a gold medal as a member of the winning American team at the 2015 FINA World Aquatics Championships, where she played in the center forward position and scored four goals. She posted six goals during Team USA’s Gold medal win at the 2015 Pan American Games, helped Team USA win the silver medal at the 2014 FINA Intercontinental Tournament, and was also named the Junior Olympics MVP in 2010. Ashley recently graduated from Stanford, where she helped the Cardinal water polo team to an NCAA Championship in 2012 and 2014, as well as being named MPSF Rookie of the Year (2013).

Anita Kaplan


According to Jews in Sports, Anita Kaplan is probably the best Jewish post player in women’s basketball history. She was an outstanding center at Stanford University from 1991 to 1995, before playing professionally. In 1992, Anita was named Pac-10 All-Freshman. The following year, she was named the team’s “Most Improved Player.” Over her final two seasons at Stanford, Kaplan was one of the best players in the country. She was All-Pac 10 both seasons, and All-America honorable mention her senior year. Anita was also a member of the gold medal-winning U.S. team at the 1994 Goodwill Games.

Rosalyn Gold Onwude

Sports Broadcaster 

In 2015, Ros was “the freshest new face in Bay Area media,” as the sideline reporter for the Warriors. “With more eyes on the Warriors than ever before, Gold-Onwude — in her first season with the team — made a strong impression,” according to “She’s phenomenal,” said Warrior Draymond Green. “She understands things from the athlete’s standpoint. She has a high basketball IQ. Her Stanford education shines through. And she has a swagger about herself.” As a member of the Stanford women’s basketball team from 2005-2010, Gold-Onwude played in three Final Fours and two national championship games and helped the Cardinal to win four conference titles as starting guard. In her final season with Coach Tara VanDerveer, she was named the 2010 Pac-10 Co-Defensive Player of the Year and ended her Stanford career as the school’s all-time leader in games played. Ros is currently a basketball analyst who calls games for ESPN, Pac-12 Network and the WNBA’s New York Liberty on MSG. She is also a reporter for the Golden State Warriors, and the San Francisco 49ers.

Kate Scott

Sports Broadcaster 

Kate handles the sports updates daily from 5am – 9am during the Murph and Mac Show and also acts as a fill-in host when the boys are away. Kate joined KNBR 680AM in 2011 and quickly established a loyal following with her wit, humor, and sports knowledge. Kate’s passionate about her alma mater, the Cal Bears, where she led cheers as the first full-time female “Mic Man.” In addition to her work at KNBR, Kate’s an anchor, reporter, host, and play-by-play announcer for the Pac-12 Networks and also calls games and reports for the various Comcast SportsNet outlets here in the Bay Area.

Share this

Honorary Chair and Co-Chairs: Tad Taube (Chair), Andy Dolich, Bob Sockolov, Dan Weiner, Leland Faust, Milt Jacobs, Roger Levy, Sheila Ash, Steve Sockolov, and Stuart Seiler

Presenters include: Jennifer Azzi, Chris Dorst, Bob Haas, Allen Kaplan, Susan Ortwein, Joan Ryan, and Barry Tompkins

Panel Host: Andy Dolich

Master of Ceremonies: Kevin Pursglove