Date and Time

November 4, 2017
6 pm Celebrity Reception & Silent Auction
7 pm Induction Dinner & Awards


  • Celebrity reception and silent auction


Fairmont Hotel
Gold Room
950 Mason Street
San Francisco, California 94108

Further Information


Celebrating 11 Years
2017 JSHoF Induction Ceremony & Banquet

Enjoy an Eventful Evening of Sensational Sports Stars, Stories, Students, and Scholarships.

  • Celebrity Reception: Have your photo taken with a sports legend.
  • Silent Auction: Bid on a variety of unique items and sports memorabilia.
  • Savor a five-star dinner, libations, and a whole lot more!

Your donation is tax-deductible to the fullest extent allowed by law, and benefits our student scholarship fund.

Benjamin Abraham Braun

Ben Braun has coached basketball since his graduation from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1975. After two years as an assistant coach at Racine’s Washington Park High School, he spent eight years as head coach at Siena Heights University in Adrian, Michigan. Next, during his 11 years at Eastern Michigan University, where he holds the school record for the most wins — 185 — he was thrice-named Mid-American Conference Coach of the Year, and in 1989, was the U.S. men’s basketball team head coach at the Maccabiah Games. Braun then became head coach of Cal’s Golden Bears for a dozen years, distinguished as the first Cal coach to be honored as Pac-10 Coach of the Year. He went on to coach at Houston’s Rice University for eight seasons. Currently, Braun is director of development for the Oakland Soldiers AAU program and lives in Berkeley with his family.

Orlando Cepeda

Since 1958, Orlando Cepeda’s baseball career has been a series of firsts. He was unanimously named “Rookie of the Year” in his debut season with San Francisco and also voted “Most Valuable Giant” in an Examiner poll. Cepeda holds the distinction of being the first player to sign a contract to only play as a designated hitter for the Boston Red Sox, and won Designated Hitter of the Year. He went on to win games for the St. Louis Cardinals, and win more team and league awards for his outstanding playing. An active ambassador for the Giants, Cepeda belongs to 14 (soon to be 15) halls of fame, and has been honored for his community service and humanitarian work. In 1999, the Giants retired his number 30, and in 2008, unveiled a life-size bronze statue of Cepeda in the fourth corner of AT&T Park. Cepeda and his wife live in Fairfield.

Anne Warner Cribbs

Anne Warner Cribbs won a gold medal at 14 in the 200-meter breaststroke at the 1959 Pan American Games, and another gold medal at 15 in the 1960 Rome Olympic Games as a 400-meter medley relay team member. She co-founded the American Basketball League (ABL) for female hoopsters, led local Olympic bids as President and CEO of the Bay Area Sports Organizing Committee (BASOC), and produced national and international championships for swimming, table tennis, hockey, fencing, and curling. The Foundation for Global Sports Development bestowed her with the Athletes in Excellence Award for her work with youth. Cribbs is Chair of the California Senior Games Association (CSGA) and Chairman Emeritus of the Northern California Olympians. The Stanford alumna lives in Palo Alto, where she serves as a commissioner for its Parks and Recreation Department.

Ken Korach

In his 37 years as a broadcaster and recipient of numerous awards for sportscasting, Ken Korach has gone from covering college basketball and football to calling baseball games for the California and Pacific Coast Leagues, the Chicago White Sox and the Oakland A’s. Now in his 22nd season with the A’s and 12th year as the team’s lead radio announcer, Korach’s tenure is second only to the legendary Bill King. He shares what he’s learned about his ex-booth mate in “Holy Toledo – Lessons from Bill King: Renaissance Man of the Mic.” In his concern for Oakland’s high school baseball programs, he founded Ken Korach’s A’s Winning for the Community to raise funds, and serves as an advisory board member for the Oakland Tech High School Field of Dreams. Korach and his family divide their time between Oakland and Henderson, Nevada.

John Ziegler

Northern California native John Ziegler learned to appreciate horses and equestrian activities as a youth during summers spent working at his grandfather’s Central Valley ranch. In his 40s, he began horseback riding once again with his daughter Emily, which evolved into a real passion for polo. Over the past 20 years, Ziegler and his son Jack have competed for cups in polo tournaments all over California, as well as in Argentina, England, Ireland, France, Spain, and Morocco. They’ve played for charities and participated on teams sponsored by St. Regis Hotels & Resorts, Aston Martin, Mondavi Winery, Restoration Hardware and Santander Bank. In California, his team won the United States Polo Association’s (USPA) Governor’s Cup and President’s Cup. When he’s not traveling for tournament play, Ziegler enjoys riding at his ranch in Petaluma..

Dick Greene, Brian Krolicki, Kevin Pursglove, Theo Robertson and others.

Kate Scott

Andy Dolich

We’ll also honor deserving Bay Area student-athletes.

Listen to Andy Dolich chatting with Gary Radnich and Larry Krueger on the Gary & Larry Radio Show on KNBR.

Share this